Direktlänk till inlägg 17 november 2008

Same problem as Runheim

Av Pelle - 17 november 2008 22:45

My right heel problem started during my preparations for Ironman New Zealand in February 2006, when I had a month off from work, just for training down under. I tried to run every day together with either a bike  or a swim session. That was probably a bit much for my heel and it has never really recovered since then. I have taken breaks from running now and then, but probably not long enough. I get a bit restless and depressed if I can't get out and do it. Another thing is that there were a few marathons around in Asia (14 of them actually) that I wanted to capture when I was stationed there, so I pushed my luck a bit by running with poor preparations and some pain, plus eating antiinflammatoric medicin. Not very clever you might say, but I got some other pleasure or satisfaction out of it. Nice memories at least.

This weekend I read the latest Runners World magazine, where Claes Runheim (f.d. Åkesson, Viasat Sport) had written about exactly the same problem in his chronical article. Exactly the same diagnosis as me and he also have the same philosophy about it as me. Instead of having some dodgy surgery done, he's enduring some pain, using ice bandages, antiinflammatoric drugs and continues to run in the same stubborn manner. He might consider trying chinese acupuncture. That 's something I haven't tried either. Instead I had ultrasound treatment for a couple of weeks in Malaysia and a special stretching program made by a physiotherapist. Claes has also cut a hole in the back of his shoe to ease the pressure, to avoid pain.

Currently I also believe that instead of resting, it might be better to increase the amount of training. Run more regulary, like 5-6 days a week, instead of 2-3. I actually feel rather OK today after running 13 km's 2 days in a row, so hmmmm... Let's see how I managed to fit in more training in my calendar and life. That's the challenge at the moment.

Claes Runheim is a very dedicated runner. I met him, dressed for running, in the reception of Gothia Towers, not so long ago and gave him some inspiring comments about running.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Pelle - 7 mars 2009 17:30

I've lost some enthusiasm for blogging lately, so I will take a timeout for a while. To many other things to do and I am already spending to much time in front of the computer. So if you wonder what I'll be doing instead, I hope that the answ...

Av Pelle - 1 mars 2009 22:41

Vasaloppet 2009 is over. Very impressive results from a MC-gang perspective. 8 out of 8 succesfull finishers. My conclusion from a general view is that is all about mindset and mental power. OK OK OK, some physical abilites as well. The strongest ach...

Av Pelle - 28 februari 2009 19:44

Ready to hit the ski tracks tomorrow morning. The temperature is perfect, around -10 to -5 degrees. We have tried the tracks up around Smågan this afternoon and it's fabulous conditions. Now we are hoping for a day tomorrow without any snowfall. ...

Av Pelle - 26 februari 2009 21:18

Yes, the flu has left my system. It has really helped to empty my body from all kind of energy reserves the last 4-5 days. If I remember correct according to some old body charging theories, it's good to clean out and empty your body, before star...

Av Pelle - 25 februari 2009 11:19

Time is flying in supersonic speed, so it's good to reflect back now and then, to get a picture of what's happening in life. That's why I now and then take a glimse back in some files to check what was going on the year or years before at...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards