Alla inlägg den 3 september 2008

Av Pelle - 3 september 2008 16:35

School's out forever
School's out for summer
School's out with fever
School's out completely

School is NEVER out for me. During last nights parent meeting for Oliver's class, another parent/friend congratulated me to our newborn son and told me some interesting facts that I haven't really thought much about. In school new kids & parents come & go all the time, but I will keep coming back over and over again until long after I'm retired ... Still lots of parent meetings in school to attend. Hmmm... true and it's not really my favourite activity, even though it's very important to take part. Last night for example, we discussed the quality of the boiled potatoes during the first couple of weeks of the new school year. One mother expressed major worries, due to that her son's braces had gone loose, probably due to not properly cooked potatoes. My god, that's serious!! Hopefully I will be able to use my old wisdom to raise the level of discussions and importance of the topics over time. You get some distance to things by age and also by moving around here & there on this globe. There are for sure problems bigger than the potatoes at Öjersjö Storegård school.

I can't say that I've been especially active with involvement at Elvira & Oliver's school here in Öjersjö. The only thing that I'm proud of is that I managed to stop a bunch of parents in Elvira's class during her first year, who wanted the school to fill up a small pond next to the school yard, so their kids wouldn't get their clothes wet etc during playing there. I argued strongely against it and claimed that we should keep the natural environment as much as possible and that our kids need to get used to small dangers, before they move on bla bla bla. The nature up here is one of the main reasons why people live here, so why turn it into some concrete suburb.

I'm happy to still see that the pond still remains the same, almost 10 years later.

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards